Question : SBS 2003 Network Configuration and DCHP

I am new to SBS 2003 standard edition.

The current ASDL line goes to a Linksys router, which is also configured to allow a remote access to a video servallence camera system. All other stations and wireless laptops access the internet via that same router.

New to the mix SBS 2003 Standard. SBS recommends it be the router (DHCP, DNS) for me this presents more headaches than the so called easy server solution that it offers, as I then have to turn off DHCP on the router and put the SBS 2003 server directly in front of the router.... get the picture.

I need to know if I will lose too much by having the router stay where it is doing what it does, and then not have the SBS 2003 as the DHCP etc.... ? When I do that I receive a number of other messages to go through chapter 2 and configure a bunch of other items...

I need the cleanest way. If I leave DHCP on the SBS server, then I also need to to some other tasks, but I notice that the IP range set is from 192.168.16.1 thru....255, but will not allow me to edit it to have it start at 192.168.16.0, which is recommended to actually have things work better.

There are two NIC cards in the server. I am able to get out to the Internet.

The problem is on the LAN getting it to auto assign IP addresses and use a wireless router that has DHCP turned off.

I hope you understand what I am asking about.

I need a simple straight forward... I need a to do list. so gain confidence in the LAN working the way it should with DHCP turned off on the router, and so the configuration in that router is not lost for the security cameras. Not sure how I would set that up on a SBS 2003 server. More familiar with just using the Linksys router.

Thanks in advance for your consideration in this matter.

Answer : SBS 2003 Network Configuration and DCHP

The issue the cameras bring to the table is just the port forwarding.