Question : Improving as a Programmer

I'm a self taught VBA programmer who primarily writes programs in Access.  I don't do it for a living, but I have written some applications that are fairly sophisticated IMO.  I get the feel that my applications are slower than they need to be.  In short, I notice a difference between them and professional applications.  Short of getting a computer science degree, what are some significant steps I can make to make a real leap in my application development?  I understand I might want to look at SQL Server instead of Access?  What about the front end?  Any code run faster?  And what of my actual programming?  Are there any online programming courses that could examine how I code to see if I can get more efficient?

Thanks!

Answer : Improving as a Programmer

Understand, however, that merely moving to SQL Server isn't a "magic bullet". To see true performance increases, you'll want to move as much processing as possible to the server (i.e. Views and Stored Procedures) and learn to use SQL to work with data. A lot of the performance issues seen with Access have to do with "bound" forms - that is, forms with a RecordSource, that contain Controls with ControlSources defined. When you do this, you allow Access to handle the data manipulation, and Access can be very slow with that.

Unbound applications mean YOU handle all data interaction, from filling the forms to updating data to deleting data etc etc. It also means, typically, that your forms will load faster (since you can often significantly limit the number of records being viewed) and thus your performance will improve. Moving your data methods to the server (by using Stored Procedures, perhaps) can significantly improve your performance, whether you use a bound or unbound application.

But again - there is no single thing you can do to make your application faster. in general: