Question : Optimizing code for use across a network.

Hello and thanks ahead of time,

I am new to writing code for Microsoft Access over a network and have been presented with a problem.  The database I am working on was developed by another person, who obviously didn't know what they were doing and didn't bother to find out how to do it correctly.  This Access application is generally installed on two machines in each of our Satellite operations.  The data is stored on one machine while both machines get a front end.  To give you a little background about the business. We buy and sell livestock, specifically hogs, then sort the livestock into categories depending on weight and condition, then sell them.  When a purchase of these hogs are entered into this system they are given a "GroupID" based off of today's date and what category the weere sorted into.  When we do a sale or a "resort" of these groups we select the GroupID from a combo box.  The forms record source is a table called "Activity" which has a field for GroupID (this is only used on resorts, Sales actually store the GroupID in an ActivityDetail table using a slightly different form) this is the controlsource for the combo box labeled GroupID, the recordsource is a query called qrySelectActiveGroups, which limits the values in the combo box to GroupID's that are set active in the inventory table.  Now, when you select a group it populates 6 textboxes with information about that group: Head, weight, cost, Trucking not charged, trucking charged, and trucking expected.  The problem we are experiencing is that the computers that the data isn't on takes literally 3 minutes just to populate the combo box with the values from the query and then another 2 minutes to fill in the text boxes.  Here is the code that does each of these things:

Private Sub GROUPID_AfterUpdate()
'Author: Scott Davis
'Created: 04/16/2003        Changed: 04/16/2003 - 08/06/2003, AI-10/06/2003
'

Dim db As Database